THE COUNTERTECHNIQUE ONLINE SUMMER SERIES

We believe space is what you make it - in your body, your mind and your home! 

Every summer since 2006, we've presented our annual One Body, One Career Countertechnique Intensive (OBOC). This year, unfortunately we had to cancel the event. There's no replacement for the OBOC but we're very proud that this summer we will be able to bring you the Countertechnique Online Summer Series, an online program that brings you a wealth of new information, allows for personal exchange with our OBOC faculty in small groups of participants and that has you move and sweat.

Countertechnique Founder Anouk van Dijk and long-standing OBOC faculty members, Senior Teacher Countertechnique Niharika Senapati, Teacher Countertechnique James Vu Anh Pham and Alexander Technique teacher Tom Koch, join forces and share their knowledge in a series of exclusive, in-depth online workshops. In addition, American Teachers Countertechnique Kira Blazek-Ziaii, Joy Davis, Jennifer McQuiston-Lott and Kelsey Paschich bring you a six-day series of SuperPro Classes.

These complementary workshops and classes will bring new insights to your dance practice, and offer plenty of tools to be applied in the Countertechnique class and beyond. All activities are tailored to small spaces and open for professional dancers and senior dance students.

With a limited access of only 25 participants per workshop and only 30 participants per class, time is of the essence - register now!*

 

WORKSHOP COACHING & TOOLS APPLICATION
by Founder Countertechnique Anouk van Dijk

If you would like to become more pro-active in taking class, this 4-day, 12-hour exclusive workshop with Countertechnique Founder Anouk van Dijk is for you!

In this workshop, Anouk van Dijk uses questions pre-submitted by the participants to introduce specific tools tailored to the participants. This workshop will lead to lively discussions and discoveries and offers hands-on strategies for a more pro-active approach to taking a Countertechnique class, and to one’s own dancing in general. Each session includes a full Countertechnique class.

Anouk van Dijk is the Founder of Countertechnique, and works currently as a free-lance choreographer worldwide. Van Dijk has trained all 31 Countertechnique teachers to date.

This workshop is tailored to small spaces and open for professional dancers and senior dance students.

Monday 20 - Thursday 23 July
9am-12pm PDT (West Coast USA)
12pm-3pm EDT (East Coast USA)
6pm-9pm CET (Europe)

REGISTER HERE (SOLD OUT)


WORKSHOP THE ALEXANDER TECHNIQUE (THE USE OF THE SELF)
by Teacher Alexander Technique Tom Koch

If you are interested in refining the relation between thinking, feeling and moving, this workshop is for you!

In this 2-day, 4-hour workshop, Tom Koch will share his insights into the relation between posture, balance and movement (Day 1: The PsychoPhysical Self), and the relation between sensation, perception, injury and pain (Day 2: The BioPsychSocial Self).

Give yourself permission to stop, re-consider and re-think your self. If you want clearer thoughts and actions, this two-day workshop will offer many new discoveries.

Tom Koch: 'My goal as a teacher of dancers is to help you understand more deeply how you coordinate and move yourself all day long, not just during dance, so that you are less likely to suffer self-inflicted injuries and judgments that could limit or end your career.'

Saturday 25 - Sunday 26 July
7am-9am PDT (West Coast USA)
10am-12pm EDT (East Coast USA)
4pm-6pm CET (Europe)

REGISTER HERE (SOLD OUT)


WORKSHOP THE ART OF FALLING 
by Senior Teacher Countertechnique Niharika Senapati

If you would like to know how to use your energy more effectively, this 12-hour workshop is for you!

Senior Teacher Countertechnique and OBOC faculty member Niharika Senapati will share her love for space, exploring the relation between tension, weight distribution and falling, and how to find and sustain effective use of energy and momentum in dancing (also in small spaces!).

Departing from exploring the use of energy in the body, you will be introduced to hands-on tools from the Countertechnique Toolbox which will help increase awareness of the physics happening in your dancing. After working in an improvisation setting, you will transport these findings to a full Countertechnique class in each of the sessions.

Throughout the workshop there will be time to ask questions, unpack confusions and share experiences.

This workshop is tailored to small spaces and open for professional dancers and senior dance students.

Monday 27 - Thursday 30 July
4pm-7pm PDT (West Coast USA)
7pm-10pm EDT (East Coast USA)
9am-12pm AEST (Australia / 28-31 July)

REGISTER HERE (SOLD OUT)

 

WORKSHOP ACTIVATING THE IMAGINATION 
by Teacher Countertechnique James Vu Anh Pham

If you are curious how Countertechnique tools can be used in a creative context, this 4-day, 10-hour workshop is for you!

Teacher Countertechnique James Vu Anh Pham will take you through a juicy Countertechnique class with flowing sequences in and out of the floor, followed by choreographic & improvisation tasks. This second part of the workshop will explore layering tasks and phrase work, activating the imagination and practicing the Countertechnique tools outside the class structure.

Throughout the workshop there will be time to ask questions, share experiences and perform together.

James Vu Anh Pham has been working with Anouk van Dijk/Chunky Move, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui/Eastman, and is currently performing in Akram Khan’s Outwitting the Devil. James became a certified Countertechnique teacher in 2014.

This workshop is tailored to small spaces and open for professional dancers and senior dance students.

Monday 3 - Thursday 6 August
5.30pm-8pm PDT (West Coast USA)
8.30pm-11pm EDT (East Coast USA)
8.30-11am AWST (West Coast Australia / 4-7 Aug)
10.30am-1pm AEST (East Coast Australia / 4-7 Aug)
12.30pm-3pm NZST (New Zealand / 4-7 Aug)

REGISTER HERE (SOLD OUT)

 

SUPERPRO CLASS SERIES 
by Kira Blazek-Ziaii, Joy Davis, Jennifer McQuiston-Lott, Kelsey Paschich

If you would like to work deeper in a Countertechnique class, this series of SuperPro Classes is for you! The 90-minute class format will allow you to take the physical work up a notch, and expand your tools practice.

The SuperPro Class is most suitable for professional dancers who have taken Countertechnique classes and workshops before, and who feel comfortable exploring intricate information in a faster progressing class. Enjoy the ride!

The SuperPRO Class Series is hosted by the All-American team of Teachers Countertechnique Kira Blazek-Ziaii (North Carolina School of the Arts, NC), Joy Davis (Boston Conservatory at Berklee, MA), Jennifer McQuiston-Lott (Glorya Kaufman School of Dance, CA) and Kelsey Paschich (Western Michigan University, MI).

Monday 27 July / Kelsey Paschich
10am-11.30am PDT (West Coast USA)
1pm-2.30pm EDT
6pm-7.30pm CET

Tuesday 28 July / Kira Blazek-Ziaii
10am-11.30am PDT (West Coast USA)
1pm-2.30pm EDT (East Coast USA)
6pm-7.30pm CET (Europe)

Wednesday 29 July / Joy Davis
10am-11.30am PDT (West Coast USA)
1pm-2.30pm EDT (East Coast USA)
6pm-7.30pm CET (Europe)

Thursday 30 July / Jennifer McQuiston Lott
10am-11.30am PDT (West Coast USA)
1pm-2.30pm EDT (East Coast USA)
6pm-7.30pm CET (Europe)

Friday 31 July / Kelsey Paschich
10am-11.30am PDT (West Coast USA)
1pm-2.30pm EDT (East Coast USA)
6pm-7.30pm CET (Europe)

Saturday 1 August / Joy Davis
10am-11.30am PDT (West Coast USA)
1pm-2.30pm EDT (East Coast USA)
6pm-7.30pm CET (Europe)

* All purchases are non-refundable and non-transferable.